Advisory Board

The arms-length Advisory Board consists of senior scholars who are otherwise not associated with the research proposal and its implementation and are not specifically collaborating with any of the co-applicants at present or in the recent past. They include: Dr. Ananya Roy, Professor and Education Director of the Blum Centre for Developing Economies at UC Berkeley, a renowned expert in the politics, planning and governance of developing global cities as well as poverty and microfinance. In many articles and forthcoming books on the “worlding” of cities, she critically investigates urban transformation in the developing world; Dr. Robert Young, based at the University of Western Ontario, holds the CRC in Multilevel Governance, has substantial experience in both national and international governance, policy and implementation and in the management of MCRI grant responsibilities; Dr. Teresa Caldeira, a Professor in the Department of City and Regional Planning at the UC Berkeley, focuses on predicaments of urbanization and reconfigurations of spatial segregation and social discrimination, mostly in cities of the global south. She won the Senior Book Prize of the American Ethnological Society for her book, City of Walls: Crime, Segregation, and Citizenship in São Paulo in 2001; Dr. Abidin Kusno is a Professor in the Institute of Asian Research at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, where he teaches in the field of history and theory of architecture and urbanism, and Indonesian/Southeast Asian studies. He holds Canada Research Chair in Asian Urbanism and Culture Tier II and also serves as co-director of Centre for Southeast Asian Research.

Advisors will participate in annual workshops, conferences and, if appropriate, smaller team meetings. They will be kept abreast of developments in the MCRI and comment on reports, papers and other materials generated. They will consult on the macro-issues that might arise in the governance of the initiative, and to flag related issues.

Ananya Roy |  Robert Young | Teresa Caldeira | Abidin Kusno


Past Board Members:

Terry Mc Gee | Thomas Sieverts |